PAK V WI: Windies Eager to Make Impact in Hot Weather ODI Series

PAK V WI: Windies Eager to Make Impact in Hot Weather ODI Series

“It is all about staying in the field for the first hour and you would get used to the conditions,” says Babar Azam.

Pakistan is aiming for a great start to a long cricket season, with a strong showing against the West Indies in a hot-weather three-match One-Day series that begins today at the Multan Stadium (Wednesday).

The three-match series is part of the Super League cycle, with both sides vying for crucial points in order to qualify for the World Cup in 2023.

In the hottest month of the year, June, no such bilateral series has ever been organised in Pakistan. Despite the fact that Pakistan hosted the 2008 Asia Cup in Lahore and Karachi in the same month, the weather in Multan might be a serious issue for both sides. Things could get rougher for both teams on Wednesday afternoon, when the temperature is anticipated to reach 45 degrees Celsius. However, both captains appear to be concentrated on gaining some key points by moving to a greater distance.

“All you have to do is stay in the field for the first hour and you’ll adjust to the conditions.” We’ve been training here for the past three days and have had no problems. In reality, we’re getting used to the circumstances,” Babar Azam, Pakistan’s captain, remarked a day before the series began.

The West Indies are coming off a win against the Netherlands in frigid weather, where they swept aside the hosts in cricket-friendly conditions.

The West Indies team would face a two-pronged task at Multan Stadium, which is hosting international cricket after a 14-year wait.

Pakistan Squad: Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imamul Haq, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Haris (wicketkeeper/batter), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper/batter), Mohammad Wasim Junior, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shahnawaz Dahani and Zahid Mahmood.

West Indies Squad: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Shamarh Brooks, Keacy Carty, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Shermon Lewis, Kyle Mayers, Anderson Phillip, Rovman Powell, Jayden Seales, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.